PONANT’s involvement in the study of the regions it explores contributes to improve scientists’ knowledge of these ecosystems.

Last September, PONANT inaugurated Le Commandant Charcot, the first hybrid electric polar exploration vessel powered by liquefied natural gas and the first cruise ship to welcome on board teams of scientists with work spaces entirely dedicated to them: a remarkable advance in terms of navigation and tools made available to the international scientific community.



A robust and lasting commitment to academic science

The resources provided by Le Commandant Charcot are an extension to actions already taken by PONANT to facilitate research. Analysis of coral reefs for the University of Oxford, recording cetacean sounds for bio-acoustician Michel André or observing the behaviour of humpback whales with the NGO Conservation International, are just a few examples.

For us, putting our technical and human resources at the service of science to create opportunities for research is a logical extension to raising our guests’ awareness of issues related to protecting the planet. With Le Commandant Charcot, and in the heritage of her eponymous explorer, our commitment to science is officially anchored as an integral part of our identity 

Hervé Gastinel, CEO of PONANT

The unique features of Le Commandant Charcot allow researchers working in the polar regions, such as biologists, geographers, oceanographers, climatologists or ethnologists, to repeatedly access unexplored or rarely studied places, and thus extend the duration of polar campaigns. The ship offers science facilities with two research laboratories (including one with openings on to the sea) as well as autonomous measuring instruments.

The EPHE (École Pratique des Hautes Études), the University of Washington, and IFREMER (French Institute for Research and Exploitation of the Sea), are already involved in this programme. Several scientists have already been on board Le Commandant Charcot, including Ted Cheeseman (Southern Cross University, Lismore, Australia), Johan Etourneau (Unité Mixte de Recherches Environnements et Paléoenvironnements Océaniques et Continentaux, EPOC, Bordeaux), Hanne Sagen (Nansen Environmental and Remote Sensing Center, NERSC, Bergen, Norway), and Camille Lique (IFREMER).

We were able to immerse instruments to obtain data on temperatures, salinity and water properties from the surface to the depths. We have also deployed instruments that remain in the Arctic collecting data in the years to come. Le Commandant Charcot offers incredible opportunities for cutting-edge science.

Camille Lique, , oceanographer at the IFREMER (French Research Institute for Exploitation of the Sea), present on board during the first expedition of Le Commandant Charcot to the North Pole.

Le Commandant Charcot offers researchers the opportunity to embark for the polar regions.

To find out more about the calls for projects, contact us at

science@ponant.com

Citizen science activities

Alongside the academic science project, PONANT commits to offering its guests an opportunity to take part in the many projects led on board. Workshops and scientific protocols are animated by the naturalist experts on board, enabling the guests to get actively involved and feel they are making a tangible contribution to science.


Data collected for projects like the marine species census, cloud cover observations, or phytoplankton sampling are all being fed into programmes such as Happywhale, Globe Clouds, FjordPhyto and Seabird Surveys. The scientists on board also give lectures on the concerns behind their various missions.

In order to deploy these citizen science programmes on board, PONANT has formed a close partnership with The Polar Collective, an association specialising in the coordination and facilitation of citizen science workshops on polar expedition ships.


Photo credits: ©Studio PONANT; ©Daniel Cron; ©Julien Fabro

L’implication de PONANT dans l’étude des régions explorées participe à accroître les connaissances scientifiques de ces environnements.

En septembre dernier, PONANT inaugurait Le Commandant Charcot, premier navire de haute exploration polaire hybride électrique propulsé au gaz naturel liquéfié et premier navire de croisière accueillant à son bord des équipes de scientifiques avec des espaces de travail qui leur sont intégralement dédiés : une avancée remarquable en termes de navigation et de moyens mis à disposition de la communauté scientifique internationale.



Un engagement fort et pérenne pour la science académique

Les moyens apportés par Le Commandant Charcot s’inscrivent dans la continuité des actions d’opportunité pour la recherche entreprises par PONANT depuis plusieurs années, comme l’analyse de récifs coralliens pour l’Université d’Oxford, l’enregistrement des bruits de cétacés pour le bio-acousticien Michel André ou bien encore l’observation du comportement des baleines à bosse avec l’ONG Conservation International.

Mettre nos moyens techniques et humains au service de la science pour développer des opportunités pour la recherche est pour nous un prolongement logique de la sensibilisation de nos passagers à la protection de la planète. Aujourd’hui, avec Le Commandant Charcot, et dans l’héritage de son explorateur éponyme, notre engagement auprès de la science est officiellement ancré comme élément constitutif de notre identité.

Hervé Gastinel, Président de PONANT

Les caractéristiques inédites du Commandant Charcot, permettent aux chercheurs travaillant dans les régions polaires tels que biologistes, géographes, océanographes, climatologues ou ethnologues d’accéder de façon répétée à des lieux inexplorés ou rarement étudiés, et d’étendre ainsi la durée des campagnes polaires. Le navire offre des infrastructures spécifiques : deux laboratoires de recherche (dont l’un avec ouvertures sur la mer), ainsi que des instruments de mesure autonomes.

L’École Pratique des Hautes Etudes (EPHE), l’Université de Washington, ou l’Institut français de recherche pour l’exploitation de la mer (IFREMER) sont mobilisés sur le projet. Plusieurs scientifiques ont déjà embarqué à bord du Commandant Charcot. Parmi eux : Ted Cheeseman (Southern Cross University, Lismore, Australie), Johan Etourneau (Unité Mixte de Recherches Environnements et Paléoenvironnements Océaniques et Continentaux, EPOC, Bordeaux), Hanne Sagen (Nansen Environmental and Remote Sensing Center, NERSC, Bergen, Norvège), ou encore Camille Lique (Laboratoire d’Océanographie Physique et Spatiale, IFREMER).

Nous avons pu immerger des instruments afin d’obtenir des données concernant les températures, la salinité et les propriétés de l’eau, allant de la surface jusqu’aux profondeurs. Nous avons aussi déployé des instruments qui restent dans l’Arctique pour récolter des observations sur les années à venir. Le Commandant Charcot offre d’incroyables opportunités pour la recherche.

Camille Lique, chercheuse au Laboratoire d’Océanographie Physique et Spatiale (IFREMER), présente à bord lors de la première expédition du Commandant Charcot au pôle Nord

Le Commandant Charcot propose aux chercheurs d'embarquer pour les zones polaires.

Pour en savoir plus sur les appels à projets, contactez-nous à l'adresse suivante :

science@ponant.com

Des activités de science participative

En parallèle des projets menés par les chercheurs, PONANT offre à ses passagers l’opportunité de s’impliquer. Ateliers et protocoles sont présentés et animés par les experts naturalistes à bord permettant à chacun de participer à la recherche scientifique.


Les données collectées avec l’aide des passagers sur le recensement d’espèces marines, l’observation de la couverture nuageuse, ou bien l’échantillonnage de phytoplanctons nourrissent des programmes tels que Happywhale, Globe Clouds, FjordPhyto, ou Seabird Surveys. À bord, lors de conférences dédiées, les scientifiques et les guides-naturalistes présentent les enjeux de ces diverses missions.

Afin de déployer ces programmes de science participative à bord, PONANT a noué un partenariat étroit avec The Polar Collective, une association spécialisée dans la coordination et l’animation d’ateliers de science participative sur les navires d’expédition polaires.


Crédits photos : ©Studio PONANT; ©Daniel Cron; ©Julien Fabro